Power

This is likely my last post for 2016, so I thought I would exit the year with an exciting topic.

In scripture, there are four Greek words that translate into a single English word…power. Now this is with a caveat in that there are many derivatives of these words, each with its own uniqueness in how it applies to one’s understanding of a particular verse. For the purposes of what I want to post here, though, I am limiting it to the four root words which are exousia, dunamis, kratos, and ischus.

Before I go any further, I want to say that there is so much depth to these four words and their application in the lives of Christians through the blood of Jesus and through His name. However, for this particular blog, I am going to attempt to limit the discussion just to the definitions and a few scriptures where each is found to supplement the definition. I will leave the in-depth discussions to subsequent blogs, but it is necessary to lay the groundwork first here before I do those.

Published by

Edward Lollar

I dearly love Jesus Christ with all my heart, soul, and strength. He is my everything and my reason for living. He comes first in my life above all other things.

Please leave a comment if you wish. All comments are reviewed before being allowed to post.

