Early Morning Shave

Pretty much all of my life, I have been clean shaven. Combine that with my normally short haircut, and it makes me look younger than my age (not that I’m old in the first place).

I must confess that every now and then, I end up going through some March hare notion that growing out my facial hair in some form or fashion will make me look older…or more refined…or wiser beyond my years. Most people say it just makes me look stupid.

Now most guys I know have at some point or another done this. Maybe it was out of laziness or maybe it was for practical reasons. I had an uncle once who used to grow his out beginning in September or October so that his face would be warm during the winter months. Other guys just want to see what it will look like if they try a new look. For whatever personal reasons, guys just do this sometimes, even when it doesn’t make sense.

Which is why I can count on one hand with fingers left over the number of times that I have attempted to grow it out with intent (I don’t count the times I’ve been lazy on vacation or an extended weekend where I refused to cut it).

One such time was where I did not cut my beard all through finals week one year while in college. I shaved it off after a girl I called on the phone agreed to go on a date with me, and I didn’t want her first impression of me to be that I looked like Grizzly Adams. Another time I grew it out was last year, where I actually took the time to shape it. I actually liked it, but I had had some severe allergies and sometimes had to wear a mask. The beard felt weird brushing up against the material, so off it went.

Published by

CJ Knight

0% Perfect. 100% Forgiven!

Please leave a comment if you wish. All comments are reviewed before being allowed to post.

