Redeemed

I am listening to the song Redeemed by Big Daddy Weave as I type this, and I am reminded of exactly what God has done for us through the saving blood of Jesus Christ.

All of humanity is flawed. It is a sobering reality to realize that no matter how good we try to be, that we are incapable of being good in and of ourselves. From the moment we enter into the world to the time that we exit it, we are steeped in sinful behavior, thoughts, and actions. Because of Adam’s sin, we are all cursed with his punishment.

I hate that no matter how much I desire to walk through any given day without messing up, I know before I even get out of bed that it is an inevitable fact that I will mess up before the day is through. It is not like I get up any given morning and say, “Hey, I think I will go out of my way to disappoint Jesus.” That happens on its own from the muscle memory that is instilled in us from birth. In a lot of ways it is not fair that we all must suffer the same consequences because of someone who lived more than 6,000 years ago. I understand…I think…why God had to design it this way after the fall of mankind. That does not mean I like it any better, though.

Scripture tells us in James 4:17 that if we know to do something and do not do it, to us it is sin:

17 Therefore, to him who knows to do good and does not do it, to him it is sin. (NKJV)

Sometimes that happens as a result of an improper emotional response to a situation that we may be facing. Sometimes we goof up unintentionally. Sometimes we just rebel against God and do our own “thing” just because we “can”. We just get stubborn, put the focus on ourselves, and go against God’s commandments. I wish I had a better reason other than we just get spiritually stupid sometimes and act this way. It is not dissimilar to a parent telling a child not to do something only to have the child do it anyway a few moments later.

Published by

CJ Knight

0% Perfect. 100% Forgiven!

Please leave a comment if you wish. All comments are reviewed before being allowed to post.

